Recipes

How I Make Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

I have seen infinite different ways to prepare Buffalo Cauliflower Bites on the internet. Most of them incorporate some sort of batter to create a more chicken-wing like skin/texture I suppose but I personally find this to take a lot of time to not provide a flavor I like and waste a lot of calories. My cauliflower bites are a lot more to the point,  quick to make, and aren’t too many calories, essentially just that of the oil and the cauliflower.

To make them I first start by taking a cauliflower (with the stalk and such removed) and chopping it in half. One half I break up and put in a ziplock bag, that way it’s even quicker to make Buffalo cauli bites on another day.

20170331_190918

I throw that in the fridge and cut the other half into bite-sized pieces and put them into a baking dish.

I then pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit and gather up some ingredients- olive oil, salt, pepper, and onion powder.

20170401_221347

I just kind of randomly drizzle the pieces with olive oil and onion powder. If I have garlic powder on hand I will sprinkle some of that on too but usually I don’t have garlic powder since I like to cook with fresh garlic. I like to put a lot of pepper on these to make them a little spicier and just a bit of salt.

Then I just cook them for 30-40 minutes flipping some time in the middle (or every 10ish minutes if you are feeling dedicated). Once they are evenly browned and crispy and you can easily stick a fork through the biggest ones they are done.

I then transfer all the cauliflower bites into a bowl and drizzle them with as much Frank’s red hot sauce as I can handle!

20170401_224946

That’s it! Super simple and definitely satisfying. A good way to make a whole meal out of just cauliflower without feeling like you only ate veggies. I also like to sometimes dip the bites in Daiya’s Blue Cheeze Dresssing.

 

2 thoughts on “How I Make Buffalo Cauliflower Bites

Leave a comment