Organic Food Reviews

Lightlife Smoky Tempeh Fakin’ Bacon

I’ve tried three different kinds of vegan bacon so far and the Lightlife Organic Smokey Tempeh Strips are my favorite. They smell so good and are prepared exactly like bacon. You just take a few pieces and fry them in a pan with olive oil until they are crispy and delicious.

This product is the triple whammy of certified Vegan, organic, and non-GMO! It’s just super yummy and with two pieces clocking in at 70 calories and 6 grams of protein it’s great.

You guys know I have been eating this bacon in BLTs with the Just Mayo. I would definitely recommend these, I love the texture and the taste. If I had to give it a critique, I would say it can’t be used to wrap other foods like traditional bacon since it would just break up basically. For me, that’s no big deal since I mostly use it for sandwiches but it you were looking to do that then this product is not for you.

Otherwise, it is fairly smokey and bacon-y and when you cook it in oil it gives it a bit of greasiness just like ‘real’ bacon. I still would like to try some other brands of bacon just because I love trying new things and when it comes to mock meats every company has their own thing.

3 thoughts on “Lightlife Smoky Tempeh Fakin’ Bacon

Leave a Reply

