Recipes

Homemade Popcorn

One of my favorite night time snacks is popcorn! I’ve found it to be kind of expensive to buy microwave organic popcorn so I started purchasing loose popcorn kernels from my local co-op about a year ago. It was the best decision I have ever made! Now I can make my own popcorn, fresh, whenever I want. Plus I control what ingredients go into it and can save on money and calories! It’s a win all around.

I recently bought about a pound of popcorn for about $9! That will last me forever. But my go-to method for making popcorn at home is to heat up a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a deep pan with 3 kernels in it. Once those three pop, you know the oil is hot enough.

I usually make about a 1/4-1/3 c of dry kernels and that makes a full bowl. Make sure you cover the pan with a lid as soon as you add the rest of your kernels because they will start popping like crazy! I usually turn the heat down a little and shake the pan every minute or so until the popping slows. I then turn the heat off and let it sit for a minute until all the popping has stopped. Then, I will top the popcorn with a little salt or melted earth balance if I want that movie theater feel.

20170321_185919

It only takes a couple minutes and you an have your own hot fresh popcorn! The best part is you don’t have to worry about what is going into your popcorn. You can use whatever ingredients you like, I know some prefer to air pop their popcorn to save on calories even more, others use a combination of coconut and olive oil to imitate a theater-like taste! Some other ideas to try is topping your popcorn with different things like paprika (spicier), nutritional yeast (cheesy/ savory), or drizzling melted dark chocolate over it for a dessert!

Leave a Reply

